What were the Dallas Cowboys called before?

Time Of Info By TOI Desk Report   June 24, 2024   Update on : June 24, 2024

Dallas Cowboys, Dallas Cowboys schedule, dallas cowboys game, dallas cowboys score, dallas cowboys schedule 2024
Photo: Courtesy/@dallascowboys

Dallas Cowboys, the American pro football team based out of Dallas, was first known as the Dallas Steers, and later as the Dallas Rangers.

On March 19, 1960, the team announced that their name was going to be “the Cowboys” from then on to avoid confusion with the American Association baseball team the Dallas Rangers.

Clint Murchison’s new NFL franchise was set to be called the Dallas Rangers initially since the baseball team’s owners told him in 1959 that they were disbanding. However, when the owners took a U-turn on their decision the following year, Murchison volunteered to rename his new team.

One of the National Football League’s (NFL) most successful and popular franchises that plays in the National Football Conference (NFC), the Cowboys have won five Super Bowls and eight conference championships till now.

The Cowboys are the only NFL team to create a record by winning for 20 consecutive seasons, all the way from 1966 to 1985. During this time, the team only missed the playoffs twice, in the years 1974 and 1984.

The Dallas Cowboys became the first ever sports team to be valued at $4 billion in 2015, making it the most valuable and profitable sports team and venture in the world, as per Forbes. They also became the first NFL franchise to be valued at $5 billion in 2018.

The history of the Cowboys begins with the birth of their franchise in 1960. With hard work and sheer dedication, its then owner Clint Murchinson Jr brought the Dallas football club into the NFL.

Founded in 1960, Dallas had their first winning season in 1966. The Cowboys came to be known as “America’s Team” in the 1970s and early 1980s after dominating regular seasons and winning two Super Bowls under the head coach Tom Landry.

Jerry Jones purchased a major stake in the Dallas Cowboys from HR (Bum) Bright in 1989.

The Cowboys won three out of four Super Bowls under head coaches Jimmy Johnson and Barry Switzer in the years 1992 to 1995.


Related Posts