The Nation’s Top Cricket Tournaments of Bangladesh

Time Of Info By TOI Desk Report   May 12, 2023   Update on : May 15, 2023

Bangladesh cricket tournament

The people of Bangladesh love their cricket. Cricket’s popularity in Bangladesh dates back to the 18th century when the British first brought the sport to the region. The people of Bangladesh have made the sport into a way of life, devoting endless hours to playing and watching it.

Cricket is a popular sport in Bangladesh, and the nation regularly plays home to several events. The top players in the world compete in these competitions, which generates a lot of buzz and boosts national pride.

This has led to an annual calendar packed with nationwide cricket competitions. Popular ones include the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL), Bangladesh Cricket League (BCL), and National Cricket League (NCL).

The most well-known cricket tournaments in Bangladesh will be discussed below. Find out below who will be competing and where. Okay, so here we go:

Dhaka Premier League

One of Bangladesh’s most prestigious cricket competitions is the Dhaka Premier League (DPL). DPL has provided cricket fans with exciting competitions since its first season in 1973–1974.

DPL teams represent a wide range of Bangladeshi clubs and organizations. The teams taking part are:

  • Abahani Limited,
  • Agrani Bank Cricket Club,
  • Biman Bangladesh Airlines Cricket Team,
  • Dhaka Dynamites,
  • Dhaka Metropolis, Gazi Group Cricketers,
  • Minister Group Cricketers,
  • Mohammedan Sporting Club,
  • Old DOHS Sports Club,
  • Prime Bank Cricket Club,
  • Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club, and
  • Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club.

Several cricket stadiums, such as the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium and the Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium, can be found in and near Dhaka, where the matches occur.

National Cricket League

The National Cricket Competition (NCL) is a famous professional cricket competition in Bangladesh. In the 1999–2000 season, this league was first played. However, in the 2000–2001 season, it moved up to the major companies.

Teams in this league represent a wide range of geographic areas. The teams taking part are:

  • Dhaka,
  • Rajshahi,
  • Rangpur,
  • Chittagong,
  • Sylhet, and
  • Khulna.

Venues like Dhaka’s Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium and Sharjah’s Sheikh Abu Naser Stadium are just two of several that host National Cricket League games around the nation. Typically, this league runs from October through December, with the championship game in January.

Group winners advance to the playoffs, and each club plays 4-6 matches. You may watch the action on the Parimatch betting site anywhere in Bangladesh.

Bangladesh Premier League

Professional Twenty20 cricket in Bangladesh is played in the BPL, organized and managed by the Bangladesh Cricket Board. To put it simply, the BCB is in charge. On February 9, 2012, the first game of this prestigious league was played.

High-scoring games that go down to the wire are a hallmark of the BPL. Each year during November and December, the league’s seven clubs compete. Many of the world’s best cricketers have played in the BPL, making it one of the best Twenty20 competitions in history.

The following teams will be competing:

  • Rangpur Riders
  • Dhaka Dynamites
  • Chittagong Vikings
  • Sylhet Sixers
  • Khulna Titans
  • Rajshahi Kings
  • Cumilla Warriors

Every year, some teams are eliminated, and others are added.

Bangabandhu T20 Cup

In Bangladesh, professional Twenty20 cricket is played in the Bangabandhu T20 Cup. The BCB initiated the festival in 2020 to honor the centennial of the birth of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, the nation’s first president. However, it is anticipated that this competition will take place yearly.

Furthermore, the competition has hosted many notable cricketers from both Bangladesh and throughout the world, earning it a reputation as a premier Twenty20 league in the country.

The following groups will be competing:

  • Dhaka Platoon
  • Rangpur Rangers
  • Khulna Tigers
  • Chattogram Challengers
  • Rajshahi Royals
  • Sylhet Thunder
  • Cumilla Warriors
  • Dhaka Dynamites

Independence Cup T20 Series

Bangladesh celebrates its independence with a T20 cricket tournament called the Independence Cup T20 Series. The Bangladesh national cricket team often faces off against a visiting side from one of the ICC’s Full Member nations.

The BCB plans and hosts the tournaments every year around March when Bangladesh celebrates its independence day. 

Teams include:

  • Pakistan
  • Sri Lanka
  • India
  • West Indies
  • South Africa
  • Zimbabwe
  • New Zealand

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Cricket in India is played in a Twenty20 format, with the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy hosted by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). Each year in January or February, teams from different Indian states and union territories compete in a tournament. This competition, honoring the life and career of legendary Indian cricketer Syed Mushtaq Ali, took place in 2008.

Each year a different set of states and territories send teams to compete in the event, although the following are regulars:

  • Andhra Pradesh
  • Assam
  • Baroda
  • Bengal
  • Bihar
  • Chandigarh
  • Chhattisgarh
  • Delhi
  • Goa

Teams compete in round-robin play within their respective groups before advancing to the elimination rounds.

ICC WorldC up Qualifiers 2022/2023 Season

To select which teams will compete in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023, the International Cricket Council (ICC) will host a qualifying competition in the 2022–2023 season.

Teams from Associate and Affiliate members of the ICC participate in this competition to earn a spot in the World Cup. Every four years, just before the World Cup, there is a competition. 

The following teams competed in qualifying tournaments for the 2022 and 2023 World Cups:

  • Afghanistan
  • Bermuda
  • Canada
  • Denmark
  • Ireland
  • Jersey
  • Kenya
  • Namibia
  • Netherlands
  • Oman
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Scotland
  • Singapore
  • UAE
  • United States


Cricket has a long and storied history in Bangladesh, returning to the country’s colonial ties to the United Kingdom. Multiple international and domestic cricket competitions are held every year in the country.

The Dhaka Premier League, Bangabandhu T20 Cup, National Cricket League, Bangladesh Premier League, and the Independence Cup T20 Series are some of the country’s most prestigious cricket competitions. Cricket fields throughout the nation, notably Dhaka’s Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, play host to these competitions, which involve teams from all over the country.

Related More Articles: The Nation’s Top Cricket Tournaments of Bangladesh


Related Posts